Forum:Allowing administrators to grant rollback
Miraheze allows local wiki bureaucrats to make many configuration changes to the wiki, such as creating and deleting namespaces, enabling and disabling extensions, and even creating new user groups and modifying their permissions.
Because of all the additional powers bureaucrats have on the wiki (and the problem we've had in the past of bureaucrats just going absent, leaving us with a whole bunch of bureaucrats we can't get rid of) I want to bring up this discussion to change the user permissions around a bit so that administrators can do more without bureaucrat intervention.
Currently, the Wikia wiki allows administrators to grant and revoke autopatrolled, but they cannot grant or revoke any other user right (aside from Chat and Discussion moderators, which we don't use anymore and are not applicable here on Miraheze anyways). Bureaucrats can grant and revoke any user right, but can't revoke bureaucrat. Wikia Staff doesn't allow us to remove old and inactive bureaucrats, even if consensus exists for it, but I'm pretty sure that Miraheze stewards will remove bureaucrats if community consensus agrees upon it. So removing bureaucrats is probably less of an issue here, though I still want to delegate more power to administrators so we don't need to have so many bureaucrats around.
As such, I propose that administrators should be allowed to grant and revoke, rollback and confirmed[n 1] user groups, in addition to autopatrolled. This will allow users to gain rollback without needing bureaucrat attention, since rollback grants two extra tools and judgement can be exercised by any administrator. Content moderators and administrators should continue to be left to bureaucrat hands, but rollback and confirmed can be granted to administrators. If there are additional user rights created on the wiki, then perhaps we should consider allowing administrators to grant and revoke them too.
- This is a manually granted user group that allows an account to instantly gain "autoconfirmed" status, without having to go through the 4-day-10-edit confirmation period. See Help:User_access_levels#Autoconfirmed_users.